Two amateur cooks explore the world of cooking for a Crohn's and Colitis diet

Gold’n Plump Chicken!

At I Be a fooDie, our goal is to deliver healthy food choices and sound nutritional advice for those who suffer from IBD.  We often espouse the benefits of a certain food or a certain cooking technique, and we hope that our readers pick up on our tips.  One food that we have not given enough attention is chicken.  For many IBDers, chicken is a safe food when compared to other protein sources, such as red meat, nuts, and beans.  The leanest part of the chicken is the chicken breast, and when eaten without the skin, the chicken has a much lower fat (and saturated fat) content than red meat (a lower fat content means less gastrointestinal distress and less digestive work for your intestines).  It is also super versatile, and so it can be modified to fit almost anyone’s taste preferences.

This week, we would like to present you with a new chicken product that can now be found in Target stores across the DC metro area.  The kind folks at “Gold’n Plump” Chicken provided us a sample of their seasoned boneless skinless chicken breast fillets.  One of our friends with Crohn’s Disease, Christine, offered to cook and review the chicken because she loves to cook, is a fan of I Be a fooDie and relies a lot on chicken as part of her diet.

Our wonderful guest bloggers, Christine and Glenn!

From Christine’s Kitchen:

Like Marnina, I have Crohn’s disease and was diagnosed when I was 9 years old.  I never was very strict about maintaining an IBD-friendly diet until a few years ago, when I realized that no food tastes as good as being healthy feels.  I follow a fairly bland diet for breakfast and lunch (mainly because I want to make sure that I feel my best while at work) and I get to experiment with more interesting meals during dinnertime!

Upon receiving a few different samples of “Gold’n Plump” chicken (see below for a review of the chicken) I decided to cook their seasoned breast fillets.

I generally try to incorporate vegetables into my dinners by eating them with pasta.  I find that as long as I’m having some kind of carb along with my veggies, I tend to feel fine.  I will very rarely have any raw veggies and I’ll only have salad once or twice a week – as long as I have a carb-heavy dish to balance it out.

For this meal, I decided to use veggies that I already had in the house – spinach, red peppers, and mushrooms.  I sautéed the mushrooms for a few minutes and then added the peppers and continued to let that cook while I made the whole grain pasta.  I know that Marnina avoids whole grain pasta/rice, but I usually feel better (and fuller) when I have whole grain bread, pasta, etc.  I tossed the pasta with salt and pepper, a tablespoon or two of vegetable oil, a few shakes of garlic powder, and about ¼ of a cup of chicken stock for flavor and added the mushrooms, red pepper, and spinach.

Preparing the veggies!

Preparing the veggies!

Sauteing all of the vegetables with the pasta

The final product!

Review of Gold’n Plump Chicken:

I grilled both types of chicken – the lemon pepper and the butter and herb – on my George Forman grill.  I’m lactose-intolerant, so my boyfriend, Glenn, tried the butter and herb.  Both types of chicken were delicious and really flavorful.  It was also really nice that we didn’t have to wait a few hours while it marinated, since the chicken comes individually wrapped and seasoned.

I really enjoyed cooking with the chicken. Each breast was packaged separately and contained a lot of the marinade. I actually make lemon pepper chicken quite often (and have to marinate it myself and then wait a few hours for it to soak up enough of the marinade) – so it was nice not having to wait for it to marinate!  Both types of chicken were really flavorful.  The pieces were a substantial size and were flattened to an even distribution, allowing them to cook evenly on the grill. Another plus was that there was no (obvious fat) on the breast so I could avoid the annoying task of trimming fat off.

We encourage our readers to try out this mid-western raised chicken.  They even have an all-natural line, which includes chicken that is never pumped with added solutions of any kind.  The following options are from their all-natural line:

  • Chicken Drumsticks – Perfect for the oven, crockpot or grill.
  • Lean 95/5 and 90/10 Ground Chicken – These flavorful, healthy alternatives to ground beef taste great in your favorite recipes
  • Seasoned Boneless Skinless Breast Fillets – The newest Gold’n Plump product, this chicken is individually packaged and perfect for recipes of your liking!

At $3.99 to $9.99, depending on the size of package, Gold’n Plump products are competitively priced with other fresh, premium offerings. Available in traditional cuts, as well as ground and seasoned chicken, most Gold’n Plump products are packaged in easy-to-open and see-through “pouches.” Interested in learning even more about the brand, products or the company tradition behind them, please visit: http://goldnplump.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

