Two amateur cooks explore the world of cooking for a Crohn's and Colitis diet

Help Us Skewer IBD!

Thanks to our contributors, I Be a fooDie was the top fundraiser for Team DC during the first week of fundraising!!! We won a bottle of wine!

Don’t forget to donate $10 (or more) to enter our blog giveaway for a free autographed copy of The Foul BowelOnly 8 more days to enter!

We have raised over $2,200 so far to find a cure for Crohn’s Disease and Ulcerative Colitis. A HUGE THANK YOU to all of our supporters. We are on a mission to ‘Skewer IBD’ and we CANNOT do it without your help! We are more than halfway to our $4,000 goal! We have started our training regimen and are vigorously running 3-4 times a week and cross training on our non-run days.  We are only up to running 4.5 miles so far. Please donate today and support our mission by clicking here and enter to win your free copy of The Foul Bowel.  We are counting on you!!

Can you help us get closer to our goal?

Haven’t been convinced that The Foul Bowel must be on your shelf? Read Marnina’s review of the book:

“I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease at age 15. Almost immediately after I was diagnosed, I was admitted to the hospital. My body was shutting down.  It was at the hospital that I began to understand the challenges of living with Crohn’s Disease—the frequent blood tests, the urgency to use the bathroom, the doctor’s appointments, the volume of pills and maintaining an extremely limited diet.  These were soon to become what would be the new normal for me.  Oh, and then there was the part when they said that I could no longer run or dance.  I’m sorry, that just won’t do.  There it is:  My new mantra.

Some might say I’m compulsive, about my diet, about taking my meds, about being positive.  Maybe, but it got me through college and several trips abroad (along with prearranging medical contacts, of course).  Convenient?  No. But this isn’t about convenience, it’s about adjusting your lifestyle and turning the disease on its head so that it empowers you.  It can empower you to go to Capitol Hill, to lobby Congressmen to support Crohn’s and Colitis legislation.  People DO listen.  It can empower you to be a role model for kids with IBD by being a counselor at a camp that gives children with IBD the medical attention they need while allowing them to be “normal” kids at summer camp.  It’s a volunteer job, but don’t let it fool you – the payback from those kids is worth far more than any other compensation.  To them, I was living proof that despite their disease, they can still attend college, can have hobbies, can travel and can work to improve the lives of others.

Oh, and about that message I got about no more dancing?  I rejoined my high school dance troupe after I bounced back (with approval from my doctors, of course), went on to lead my college troupe, and then formed my own for junior high kids. And the message about no more running?  This past Spring I trained with Team Challenge and completed my first half-marathon, raising $7,500 through fundraisers on behalf of the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America.  I’d gone above and beyond—I had successfully run a half marathon in spite of my Crohn’s Disease.  Now I’m training for my second half marathon and hoping to raise more than $7,500 and cross the finish line with one of my former campers.

As I read The Foul Bowel eight years after my original Crohn’s diagnosis, I laughed and I cried.  John Bradley’s detailed description brought back many memories of painful parts of my journey with Crohn’s.  Despite the pain and discomfort, Bradley’s ever so present humor makes everything associated with living with IBD entirely digestible (pun intended!).

One particular theme that resonates throughout the book is Bradley’s determination to take control of his disease.  He teaches an important lesson about the value of staying resolute even when certain medicines are not working, and to never accept any doctor’s opinion that bordered on ‘nothing can be done.’  His tips and insights for an IBD patient navigating the medical world provide a perfect backdrop for his own experiences, and the book will make you laugh, cry, angry, smile, cringe, and feel every emotion associated with his roller coaster ride with Crohn’s Disease.

Bradley’s positive attitude is infectious and his experiences are inspiring.  He leaves his readers believing that as much as Crohn’s Disease brings you down, there’s always a way back up.

Anyone affected by or interested in IBD should get ahold of The Fowel Bowel. It will take you on a journey that will educate you about Crohn’s Disease, entertain you and inspire you to live life to its fullest and to rise above IBD.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

