Two amateur cooks explore the world of cooking for a Crohn's and Colitis diet

Food for the Body and Soul

“Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul.”  – Dorothy Day

Dear I Be a fooDie readers and supporters,

After a 3 year hiatus, we are back. We spent the last few years feeding our souls. Since we last posted, your beloved foodies got married, bought a house, started new jobs and went back to school.

img_6864

We had a small house warming party over the summer. Everyone got to leave with a “key” to our house. Gluten free keys were available too!

img_6863

These were some of the delicious snacks that we served at the party. 

While our blog posting was minimal over the past few years, our I Be a fooDie community continued to grow. We received messages from viewers recently diagnosed with IBD who found the blog and were using it to learn about different ways they could modify recipes to meet their dietary restrictions. We are grateful that our blog continued to serve as a resource despite our recent online silence.

Seth is currently back in school completing all of the courses he needs to become a Registered Dietitian. He wants to focus on nutrition and chronic diseases. Go figure!

While Seth is in school, I am recommitting to I Be a fooDie. In fact, I Be a fooDie is my birthday gift to myself (yes, today is my birthday!). This will be the year I bring patient advocacy back to our I Be a fooDie platform.

Living with Crohn’s Disease is a tough journey. There are days when I feel sick and there are days when I feel mostly normal.  Every healthy day is a blessing. Being able to eat is a gift. I remember my NG tube like it was yesterday. It was one of the lowest points of my life. Today, I can eat (with restrictions) and I can enjoy delicious food. I have made my diet work. You can too.

I hope that I Be a fooDie can continue to be a platform where we share delicious recipes and explore the dietary aspects of Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). We have a number of blog posts in the works. For example, have you ever wondered how best to re-hydrate yourself when you are sick? What’s up with Kombucha? Is it healthy for IBD patients? Are there other topics you are interested in learning about? Let us know and comment below

We have a new kitchen with lots of cooking space, new dishes to help improve the quality of the photos, and lots of recipes that we are excited to share with you. I hope you will join us again on our journey that will hopefully feed your body and soul.

Marnina

P.S. Someone secretly nominated us for a WEGO Health “Best Kept Secret” Award. We are honored! Please endorse us online and show your support for I Be a fooDie!

img_6875

Comments on: "Food for the Body and Soul" (1)

  1. Good to see you back!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

